Coverart for item
The Resource Waiting for the electricity : a novel, Christina Nichol

Waiting for the electricity : a novel, Christina Nichol

Label
Waiting for the electricity : a novel
Title
Waiting for the electricity
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Christina Nichol
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the republic of Georgia, the Communists are long gone, replaced by. well, by what? Something much more confusing, that's for sure. There are no jobs in the cities. And when there are jobs, employees aren't compensated. And when they are compensated, it's because the jobs are... not strictly scrupulous. In the village, life goes on much as it always did, but these days, the homemade farmers cheese is giving way to the oil pipeline. And as for romance in this strange, confounding modern age. the less said, the better. But there's one man in Georgia who remains unseduced by corruption, unfazed by nostalgia, and unable to abandon chivalry, no matter how antiquated a notion it may be. This man is Slims Achmed Makashvili, a humble maritime lawyer and the hero of this brilliant novel. When Slims discovers an application for an American small business internship program sponsored by Hillary Clinton, he knows that he has found his calling. In his letters to Senator Clinton, Slims dreams of bringing efficiency, opportunity, and the American dream to his homeland, even as his friends and relatives embrace decadence, lethargy, and a staggering array of unsavory business practices. But when he finally gets to America-specifically to utopian San Francisco-Slims sees what reform and progress look like up close. And suddenly, his loud, bickering family and his anguished, joyful country no longer seem so grim. A gleeful picaresque, a hilarious satire, and a work of extraordinary empathy and imagination, Waiting for the Electricity is a marvelously imaginative debut novel in the tradition of Jonathan Safran Foer's Everything Is Illuminated and Gary Shteyngart's Absurdistan"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Nichol, Christina
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3614.I3326
LC item number
W35 2014
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Georgia (Republic)
  • Georgians (South Caucasians)
  • Culture conflict
Label
Waiting for the electricity : a novel, Christina Nichol
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn874901730
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
332 pages
Isbn
9781468306866
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014007051
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)874901730
Label
Waiting for the electricity : a novel, Christina Nichol
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn874901730
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
332 pages
Isbn
9781468306866
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014007051
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)874901730

Library Locations

    • Menasha Public Library (Elisha D. Smith)Borrow it
      Elisha D. Smith Public Library 440 First St, Menasha, WI, 54952-3191, US
      44.2029583 -88.4479345
Processing Feedback ...