Coverart for item
The Resource Arts & Entertainments

Arts & Entertainments

Label
Arts & Entertainments
Title
Arts & Entertainments
Creator
Subject
Summary
Christopher Beha delivers a cutting send-up of our cultural obsession with celebrity—a deliciously witty, and ultimately tender, novel about the absurdity of fame and the complexity of love sure to appeal to fans of Maria Semple and Jess Walter.A sharp-edged satire with heart, Arts & Entertainments is the story of Handsome Eddie Hartley who, at thirty-three, has forgone dreams of an acting career for the reality of life as a drama teacher at a boys' prep school. But when Eddie and his wife, Susan, discover they cannot have children, it is one disappointment too many.Weighted down with debt, his wife's mounting unhappiness, and his own deepening sense of failure, Eddie is confronted with an alluring solution when an old friend-turned-web-impresario suggests Eddie sell a sex tape he made with an ex-girlfriend, now a wildly popular television star. Overcoming his initial moral qualms, Eddie figures that in an era when any publicity is good publicity, the tape won't cause any harm—a decision that will have disastrous consequences and propel him straight into the glaring spotlight he once thought he craved.A hilariously biting and incisive take-down of our culture's monstrous obsession with fame, Arts & Entertainments is also a poignant and humane portrait of a young man's belated coming-of-age, the complications of love, and the surprising ways in which the most meaningful lives often turn out to be the ones we least expected to lead
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Beha, Christopher
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Literature
  • Humor (Fiction)
Label
Arts & Entertainments
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:44a92d23-5a71-40e3-b689-ee616eb90053
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062322470
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Arts & Entertainments
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:44a92d23-5a71-40e3-b689-ee616eb90053
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062322470
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

  • Menasha Public Library (Elisha D. Smith)Borrow it
    Elisha D. Smith Public Library 440 First St, Menasha, WI, 54952-3191, US
    44.2029583 -88.4479345
Processing Feedback ...